June 27, 2013

To begin – Para empezar

before – antes

Image

after – después

Image

I had these scans on Monday just before my fifth (out of twelve) treatment. If you look on the right sides arm pit area and in the chest in the before picture, you’ll notice a ton of white dots. Those are cancer cells. If you look in the after picture you will notice that they are no longer there…! The first picture was taken towards the end of February and the second just before my fifth treatment. As you can see, the cancer has been eliminated, but I still have to finish the rest of the treatment. It feels great to know that it is working, not only against the Hodgkins, but also against the Thyroid cancer as well which is something we did not expect.

Me hicieron estas fotografias el lunes, antes de mi quinto (de doce) tratamiento. Si miras en la axila en el lado derecho y el pecho en la primera foto, veras que hay unos círculos blancos que no deben estar ahi. Eso es cancer. Si miras en la foto de después notaras que ya no existen!. Sacaron la primera foto a finales de Febrero y la segunda justo antes de mi cuarto tratamiento. Como puedes ver, el cancer ha sido eliminado, pero todavia tengo que terminar todo el tratamiento. Sienta tan bien saber que funciona no solo contra el Hodgkins, si no que tambien contra las tiroides. Es algo que no esperábamos.

It has been a crazy past month. I headed back to Spain during the end of May to begin preparing for our wedding. Mario and I got married on June 6th. The ceremony and the reception turned out better than we could have ever imagined. Everything just went perfectly.

El mes pasado fue una locura. Volvi a España a finales de Mayo para terminar los planes para la boda y casarnos. Mario y yo nos casamos el 6 de junio! La ceremonia y la comida de después, fueron mejores de lo que imaginábamos que podría haber sido. Todo fue absolutamente perfecto.

ImageImageImage

Image

Just a few days after the wedding I had to return to the US for my next treatment. It was so hard to leave after such a life changing occasion, but unfortunately, it was what it was. After treatment that Monday I woke up and decided that I wanted to go back to Spain. I was going to need to go back to do my paperwork at some point if I wanted to try and switch my doctors to Spain before finishing treatment. I started looking at flights, and after deciding that it is going to be expensive no matter when you book a flight during summer, I decided to fly out that same day. I have never made such a large decision like that before, but it was definitely worth it in the end. I was able to spend much needed time with Mario and get a lot of paperwork sorted out. Because of so many loopholes and bureaucracy I couldn’t get far enough along to move my doctors that week, but I did finally get my residency squared away, so I will have health insurance upon arrival in October and can move my doctors to Spain when I finish. What a process. Either way, we were able to spend an amazing weekend at the beach together, share many meals, and just have some quality time to relax and be together.

El mes pasado fue una locura. Volvi a España al finales de Mayo para terminar los planes para la boda y casarnos. Mario y yo nos casamos el 6 de junio! La ceremonia y la comida de después, fueron mejores de lo que imaginábamos que podría haber sido. Todo fue absolutamente perfecto.
Solo pocos dias despues de la boda tenia que volver a EEUU para mi cuarto tratamiento. Fue tan dificil irme despues de pasar un momento tan importante en mi vida, pero desafortunadamente, es lo que hay. Despues de mi tratamiento ese lunes, me desperte el martes y decidi que queria volver a España. Sabia que iba a tener que volver para hacer el papeleo y empece ha mirar vuelos durante el verano, y realmente no cambiaba el precio si me iba ese mismo dia, o en julio. Asi que me fui solo unas horas despues. Nunca he hecho una decision asi en mi vida pero ha valido la pena sin dudas. He podido pasar tiempo necesario con Mario y aunque no he podido hacer todos los papeles que me hacian falta, he podido conseguir la residencia, y tambien he conseguido la targeta sanitaria para cuando vuelva en Octubre. Vaya processo. Igualmente, hemos podido pasar un fin de semana increible en la playa, compartir muchas comidas, y solo tener tiempo de calidad para relajar y estar juntos.

I’m almost half way done!

Casi la mitad del camino hecho!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kiki
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 20:59:04

    many congratulations! you’re a real Costejà now, with your crazy things…;), so your family will always follow and help you

    LOVE YOU!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Anthony Hines
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 12:27:21

    Jenn, You are doing nothing short of fantastic. Now it is about keeping your strength built, your mind in the right state and your spirit always so positive that people will feel your aura. People see me at work every morning and ask downtrodden or tired or dragging, how’s it going and they get, great, awesome, fabulous and way cool. That aura of kindness and health and good and happiness is like crack to people as the world does not have much of it. Look for opportunities to bring joy or good in small ways to people, animals and all beings and your health will get stronger by the minute. The world needs love, so show people how much you have and let them choose to accept it. It they are worthy keep giving it, if they don’t want it, save it for someone who accepts it and appreciates it. Love all in some way but love deeply the people that appreciate and respect you. You have a deep and way cool gif so spread it around and people will flock to you.

    Reply

Leave a comment